Down on Love

“4 Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; 5does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; 6 does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; 7 bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. 8 Love never fails…”

I Corinthians 13:4-9a

 

I don’t like love.

Let me rephrase that. That came out a little harsh.

I don’t like the commerciality of love.

Valentine’s Day is coming up here in several days, and as a cashier at Walmart, I have seen my share of commercial love. Heart-shaped boxes of chocolate? Check. Stuffed animals? Check. Ridiculously overpriced greeting cards? Check.

I had a gentleman come through my line with his wife, and he handed me a card with the front upside down. He said, “Don’t let her see it.” I quickly rang it up and bagged it, and he took the card and hid it from view. While she watched the whole thing happen. Then I proceeded with the order, and when it was all said and done, she bought everything. Including her Valentine’s Day card.

I’m not the lovey-dovey type. I’m not overly affectionate–at least, I think I’m not. So maybe that’s why I hate Valentine’s Day. I have to be lovey-dovey, when I’m not.

The only thing I like about the looming holiday is the dinner theater we hold at church. This is my second year doing it. And it seems like every character I’ve portrayed hates love. Kind of like me. So it works out, I guess.

But I’m not going to change the world by saying, “Valentine’s Day is stupid.” All I’ll do is just grumble as I get in line and buy the chocolates and flowers and cards and stuffed animals.

Just like every other man in the world.

-Jesse

Tagged ,

Leave a comment